Rhythm and Brass

Rhythm and Brass From Left: Gerry Brockhouse, Dave Leith, Kerry Mongan, Roy Love, Ron Stuart, Murray Brough & George Watson.

    Dave Leith (Lead Guitar / Vocals)
    Roy Love (Bass Guitar / Vocals)
    Kerry Mongan (Drums)
    Gerry Brockhouse (Organ)
    Murray Brough (Trumpet)
    Ron Stuart (Tenor Sax)
    George Watson (Baritone Sax / Trombone)
    Peter Leith (Lead Vocals)

When the Corvairs broke up, members Dave Leith and George Watson decided to put together a large group and called it Rhythm and Brass. Formed in 1966, they played in the style of the Tijuana Brass, Chicago and Blood, Sweat and Tears.

They played the Wellington pub and club scene for ten years. During that time they only had three personnel changes. Ron Stuart left and was replaced by Matt Milton, ex the Vibrons, in 1975. Roy Love left for a short time, but soon returned. During his absence Alan Brown filled in. Kerry Mongan was replaced by Maurice Butterworth. Maurice would later join the Falcons.


New Zealand Music